MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:04 am

Post subject: making turns
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2000 11:20 am 
The original question was:

I don't like to admit this, but as a designer, I suck at making turns. They never look right. Can anyone help? And, why can't I copy an area from a pod file, so I can simply paste the turns? (I want to use The Excatvation, since I am using stock textures from it)... Can anyone help me? (This is making me rather mad)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2000 11:21 am 
Glow Ball

Good altitude work is probably one of the toughest things when making a track. There are so many things to take into consideration. In most cases, we can be half way satisfied if it comes anywhere even close to be being smooth.

A few notes on alititude work, please see here. This page covers several aspects of working on the terrain. For example.

1. Transitions to and from hills (this is what wk was describing to you)
2. Banked U-Turns (this will help on some corners in your track)
3. Copy & Paste Terrain Area (this is good, but will paste at exactly the same z value)
4. Raise & Lower Terrain (can be helpful if you dig too deep or work too high, we used this on godzilla vs bigfoot).
5. Jagged Landscape (just a few notes on making the track look smoother)
6. Rough Corners (tips from malibu for creating smooth embankments)

You might also want to play with the curvature tool. It can make bumps and variations in the road much smoother.

>>why can't I copy an area from a pod file

You can.

First you need to get the terrain bitmap from the track you want to use. Then the terrain bitmap from your track. See here for notes on how to do that.