MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:07 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next   
Author Message
 Post subject: Error when podding the truck
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:29 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Washington
In binedit, I open my trucks bin file. Then I go to the truck editor, click on my trucks .trk file, it opens fine (nothings in red). After that when I click pod truck, everything is fine. Once I click pod..., I get an error saying 'One or more truck files are invalid. Pod anyway?'.

If I click yes, and put my truck in the game it doesn't show up in the garage. Then if i try to test it out I get an error saying 'Unable to open model: truck.bin' (not actually my trucks bin name).

From there I went into c-pod and open up my trucks pod. Everything was fine EXCEPT my trucks bin file wasn't there. If i dragged the bin file in there, and saved everything turned out blank. I also opened up the trk file in notepad and all names were correct.

So yep.... just need to know how i can get my truck podded correctly / what am I doing wrong.

_________________
"If you ain't first, you're last!" - Ricky Bobby
That is true in drag racing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error when podding the truck
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:35 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 04, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 495
Location: Bathurst, NSW, Australia
Warren262 wrote:
In binedit, I open my trucks bin file. Then I go to the truck editor, click on my trucks .trk file, it opens...

There's your problem. You can't have the bin file open in BinEdit, at the same time as you use the Truck Editor. Close the bin file and you should be able to pod successfully.

It's a known issue. BinEdit 'locks' any file it opens to track changes and prevent any outside programs from modifying it while it is open in the modeller. Unfortunately, it means a sharing conflict arises within the Truck Editor if the trk opened uses the same bin. And I am guessing when you went to C-POD, you still had the bin open in BinEdit, which is why C-POD couldn't access it either.

_________________
10 years of MTM2 ~ 1998-2008
"Thanks for the MTMories"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 9:54 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Washington
Ah ha! That was the problem. I knew there was 'some little thing' that i was doing wrong. I'll have to remember that... thanks :D

_________________
"If you ain't first, you're last!" - Ricky Bobby
That is true in drag racing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:33 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:17 pm
Posts: 54
I've been having a similer problem. but even when the Bin file is closed in Binedit, it still wont pod it wont even show up in the preview screen under truck editor. I used runts tutorial so... yea im not sure whats going on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:38 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Washington
Did you make sure none of the files names are in red? Also remember to click the FIT button in the preview screen.

_________________
"If you ain't first, you're last!" - Ricky Bobby
That is true in drag racing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:44 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:17 pm
Posts: 54
most of the names are in red. what does that mean and how do i fix it? You are the first person to try to help me with this problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:50 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Washington
Most likely means either: the files name is spelled wrong, it is not the correct file, the file is in the wrong place, or it is missing textures.

_________________
"If you ain't first, you're last!" - Ricky Bobby
That is true in drag racing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:52 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:17 pm
Posts: 54
ok how do i fix it if its mising texture? BTW after i repainted the truck and went to replace the textures an error came up and it threw me off.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:04 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Washington
In the truck editor (after you've opened the trk)
1. Double click the name (of the red name). Off to the right you'll see a ...
2. Click on the that and browse to the correct texture/model.
If you don't know which onces are right (for instance maybe the tire model), open each model in binedit untill you get to the one that is a tire. Then go back to step one.

_________________
"If you ain't first, you're last!" - Ricky Bobby
That is true in drag racing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:06 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:17 pm
Posts: 54
thanks. Is it ok if i let you know if it still doesn't work?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:09 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Washington
Sure. I just started using binedit a week or two ago but now I've pretty much have learned how to fix errors.

_________________
"If you ain't first, you're last!" - Ricky Bobby
That is true in drag racing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:11 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:17 pm
Posts: 54
yea . I bet you had some of the same problems huh?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:27 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Washington
Yep, I would try to retrace my steps to see where I went wrong. And when swapping bodies you pretty much have twice as many files to deal with too. [:P]

_________________
"If you ain't first, you're last!" - Ricky Bobby
That is true in drag racing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:32 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:17 pm
Posts: 54
yea I'm using Bad news travels fast 04 as the base and deleated the visor andrear cab thingy. its red and has black out lined flames. Her name is Slingshot i would post a pick but cant figure out how to get a pic from binedit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:37 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Washington
At the top right of your keyboard, hit the Print screen/SysnRq key
It should be on most computers, I think its less common on laptops. Anyways if you have it, hit it, then go to paint or paint shop pro and click paste.

_________________
"If you ain't first, you're last!" - Ricky Bobby
That is true in drag racing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 7:56 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:17 pm
Posts: 54
ok i got the pic saved now how do I post it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:20 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Washington
Go to a site like www.imageshack.us and upload it. Then once it is done copy the 'direct link to image' and paste the link. Or you can paste the link and put img tags around it so the pic actually shows up.

_________________
"If you ain't first, you're last!" - Ricky Bobby
That is true in drag racing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:11 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:17 pm
Posts: 54
<a href="http://img152.imageshack.us/my.php?image=slinshotpicpx8.png" target="_blank"><img src="http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/5180/slinshotpicpx8.th.png" border="0" alt="Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us"></a>[url][/url]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:35 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:17 pm
Posts: 54
The names in binedit under tools>truck editor are still red i dont no how to fix it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:38 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 10:28 pm
Posts: 134
Location: Washington
Ok, look at all the names in red. If it is a model (bin), make sure it is in the MODELS folder and that it is spelled correctly. If it is a texture (raw), make sure it is in the ART folder and that it is spelled correctly. Also if its a texture open c-pod, then open the truck body and make sure that texture is in there.

btw your truck looks pretty good. :)

_________________
"If you ain't first, you're last!" - Ricky Bobby
That is true in drag racing.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next   


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group