MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:50 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Phineus - texture converting for me
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 10:40 pm 
Member

Joined: Sun May 07, 2000 2:01 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Northern, CA, USA
Hey Phineus, you mentioned to have the the right size for a speedy return on the textures your converting for me. Do you need them all '64x64' already or can I send to you as example '256x64'.

Also, any preference for file type, aka .bmp, .jpg, .gif
and preference for color depth if any...

Thanx again and will have them mailed to you either tonight or tomorrow morning...

Thanx,
Behihm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 10:59 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
After I posted I thought maybe I should have just waited to see what you had... but couldn't edit my post. I should really register, lol.

Anyway. Yeah, just send me what you have and we'll go from there. I'll have a look and if something needs fixing I'll just let you know. If not, you'll get them in short order.

For an idea what I'd look at.

64x64 I would assume you've taken the two pixel overlap into account and they'd be ready as is. To convert them I'd use c-pod to do them all at once.

256x64 would be a bad size because (a) they cannot be sliced up so they over lap, so they'd have seams everywhere - converting would probably be best done with traxx, (b) the size should really be multiples of 60 - eg 240x60. To convert them I'd use slice60. Depending what you have, we may be able to combine a couple of these ideas so you don't need to redo anything.

In either case, I'll probably lay them in a track to have a look at how they ccme out. Generally speaking, this is easy stuff so there's no harm if it takes a couple shots before it's right.

BMP and TGA are usually best. High color. I can reduce if it needs it.

----------

It sounds like you already have things done. So, I'll just drop these links in here for future reference.

http://cownap.com/~mtmg/templates/

http://cownap.com/~mtmg/templates/10templates.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 11:24 pm 
Member

Joined: Sun May 07, 2000 2:01 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Northern, CA, USA
Textures I am working on are not ground textures, they will be placed on boxes and/or .bins...

Where did 60x60 come from??? I coulda swore they were 64x64???
I just cut them into 64x64 already, if need be, maybe you can resize for me?
Also, I have 10 .gif's I wanted to create an ani with, doubt I will use them all but would like to have them so I can play around so it looks descent in the game at least. Maybe you can do something with these?

I will zip them up, putting the .jpg in one zip and the .gif in another zip file. If you are unable to work with the .gif or make them look good then don't bother...

Now that I think about it, I will go ahead and throw original images into zips also just in case I screwed up already :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 11:33 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
> not ground textures, they will be placed on boxes and/or .bins...

Easy peasy. Let's just do them as is then.


> Where did 60x60 come from??? I coulda swore they were 64x64???

Terrain textures are 60x60 with a two pixel overlap for a total of 64x64. When making them, the best method is to create a large sheet in 60 pixel dimensions then let slice60 process the overlap. Very very nice results working this way.

Model textures are a different story entirely. 64x64 is the way to go with those.


> I just cut them into 64x64 already, if need be, maybe you can resize for me?

Converting with cpod will take less than five minutes. No need to resize if they are not ground textures.

> Also, I have 10 .gif's

Yep, send them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 11:37 pm 
Member

Joined: Sun May 07, 2000 2:01 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Northern, CA, USA
ok Phineus, fired off email...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 09, 2004 11:52 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Reply returned.

11:37 pm --> 11:52 pm

Took a while. I guess I shouldn't have stopped to change tunes in winamp, hehe.


8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 10, 2004 12:58 am 
Member

Joined: Sun May 07, 2000 2:01 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Northern, CA, USA
Thanx Phineus,
appreciate your assistance... Got the conversions back and going to see how they look in game real soon.

I plan to have a beta for the track by next weekend, will be sure to drop by here and let everyone/you know.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group