MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:13 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next   
Author Message
 Post subject: Support for Widescreen and Higher Resolutions?
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 8:47 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 8:28 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Australia
(Just getting my '2 post' count up because it's telling me I can't post links until I have 2 posts... even though my real post doesn't have any links.)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 8:48 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 8:28 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Australia
and my second post

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 8:49 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 8:28 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Australia
Okay, sorry about that guys, here's my REAL one:

Hey everyone,

I'm new to these forums and I must say it sure is a pleasure to see that this community is still going strong and that everyone hasn't just forgotten about this game!! I remember this game being my life for a good couple of years back when I was I kid...

Anyway, my question. I decided to install MTM2 again the other day to relive some of the good times, only to discover that the 640x480 4:3 image stretched over my 16:10 1680x1050 LCD monitor was, to be quite frank, hideous (regardless, it was still a blast to play it again).

So are there any mods, hacks, add-ons or methods that I can use to up the resolution or at the very LEAST make the game display in 16:10 widescreen?

Thanks guys! *crosses fingers*

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 10:10 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
You'd need an emulator or wrapper. You can try something like this but no guarantees.

http://dege.freeweb.hu/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 10:59 pm 
MTM2 Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 6:19 pm
Posts: 1267
Location: Viña del Mar, Chile.
I have tried with Zacks GlideWrapper and other called dVoodoo or something like that. The result: Now I cannot open graphics dialog on MTM2. Game automatically crashes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 12:29 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 8:28 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Australia
Wow, these are a godsend! I had no idea anything like this even existed! Thankyou so much guys! I played around with dgVoodoo for a while, but it just made everything look blurred and destroyed the framerate (no matter WHAT settings I tried).

So then I had a look for Zack's GlideWrapper that Kmaster mentioned, and found Zeckensack's GlideWrapper http://www.zeckensack.de/glide/ (not sure if this is what you meant Kmaster) and it works an absolute charm!! The resolution isn't quite 1680x1050, but it's so darn close I have to look closely at the screen to even tell, and everything it in the proper aspect ratio!! The only downside is a little bit of pink crap around the edges of the cockpit and steering wheel in the in-cab view, but it's so minimal it's easily ignored.

On a side note, dgVoodoo works great with Powerslide, another of my all time favourite games, whereas using Zeckensack's GlideWrapper, the game won't even start at all! I can't wait to see how POD looks with these...

Thanks again guys!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 8:33 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 4:39 pm
Posts: 1767
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba, Canada
powerslide, now there is a game I havent heard about in awhile, I only have a demo of it that I played on Ye Ole 95, but great game none the less :). Ran very smooth too, good graphics engine, very well optimized it seemed, well, at least my oldie loved it, benchmarked average of about 45 fps. Always ran very smooth. I wish game designers still put that much effort into their graphics engines. Makes me think of populous, the beginning, that game was intense for support, supported software mode, Direct Draw mode, Direct 3D mode, 3dFX mode, Direct 3d without direct draw (wtf???) direct draw combined with software mode. And you could run the game smooth from machines of about 120 mhz and up (depending on graphics settings). And the world graphics beat most modern RTS games, even now. The level of detail was staggering.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 5:41 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 8:28 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Australia
Yeah, Powerslide is great. It was always the best looking and smoothest running game I had for a good couple of years back when I first got a computer. And it still holds up as a great racing game. I mean, by today's standards it's not a complex game and it doesn't exactly look stunning, but it still has a mood, atmosphere and artistic style that I've yet to experience in any other racing game, and it has some of the coolest music I've heard in ANY video game. Back then it was an awesome experience, but playing it now on a widescreen with that Glide wrapper, a 5.1 surround sound system and using an XBOX 360 controller? Hell, I'm enjoying it even more now than I did back in the day.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 9:54 pm 
Gone Walkabout
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:35 am
Posts: 665
Hi Nazxul360, hope you still enjoy the game as much as you said you did before. Its still a great ole game to have fun in. :)

_________________
Tournament Host:
MTM2
http://www.mtm2tournaments.com
http://www.mtm2online.com
Evo1
http://www.evo1online.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 12:02 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 8:28 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Australia
ShadowPrincess wrote:
Hi Nazxul360, hope you still enjoy the game as much as you said you did before. Its still a great ole game to have fun in. :)


Which are you referring to? MTM2 or Powerslide? Either way, I fully agree with you! :D

Ooh hey, I'm from Australia too! Nice.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:51 pm 
MTM2 Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 6:19 pm
Posts: 1267
Location: Viña del Mar, Chile.
This is what you will get with Zeckensack's glide wrapper:

Image

*No gradient on sky
*No anti-aliasing on cockpit
*No hi res!

my settings:
Image
("monster_en.exe" is the original english monster.exe of my monster truck madness installation.)

frame rate is ok, is completely playable


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:07 pm 
MTM2 Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 6:19 pm
Posts: 1267
Location: Viña del Mar, Chile.
Wait, after playing around with the settings, finally i could get the game play on 1280x960, im gonna post some screenshots soon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:29 pm 
MTM2 Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 6:19 pm
Posts: 1267
Location: Viña del Mar, Chile.
http://forum.mtm2.com/viewtopic.php?t=5 ... highlight=


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:17 pm 
Gone Walkabout
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:35 am
Posts: 665
Nazxul360 wrote:
ShadowPrincess wrote:
Hi Nazxul360, hope you still enjoy the game as much as you said you did before. Its still a great ole game to have fun in. :)


Which are you referring to? MTM2 or Powerslide? Either way, I fully agree with you! :D

Ooh hey, I'm from Australia too! Nice.


MTM2 :) I have not tried the other, there has been many games I have been given or asked to try over the years but in all honesty I dont have the time, between work, family and MTM2 & Evo tournaments online my days are stretched as it is.

Yes, Aussie through and through, nice country we live in isnt it :)

_________________
Tournament Host:
MTM2
http://www.mtm2tournaments.com
http://www.mtm2online.com
Evo1
http://www.evo1online.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 5:19 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 8:28 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Australia
ShadowPrincess wrote:
Nazxul360 wrote:
ShadowPrincess wrote:
Hi Nazxul360, hope you still enjoy the game as much as you said you did before. Its still a great ole game to have fun in. :)


Which are you referring to? MTM2 or Powerslide? Either way, I fully agree with you! :D

Ooh hey, I'm from Australia too! Nice.


MTM2 :) I have not tried the other, there has been many games I have been given or asked to try over the years but in all honesty I dont have the time, between work, family and MTM2 & Evo tournaments online my days are stretched as it is.

Yes, Aussie through and through, nice country we live in isnt it :)


Indeed, I just got back from a 6 day getaway with my brothers and friends right out in the bush and farmland (Coonamble, if you have any idea where that is), and it really is the best way to appreciate this beautiful country. I absolutely love it. [;)]

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:32 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 4:39 pm
Posts: 1767
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba, Canada
My computers dead, so I can't play mtm2 even if i wanted too :(

Well, thats not entirely true, I have ye ole 95

Image

Saddly if u look under the desk, that wire, that piece of paper, everything, even the piece of tape, is all still in the exact same spot, that picture was taken in December of 2006.

The error message has moved around though :)


That old bugger can't game anymore though, some piece of hardware in it is shot, I think the video card has grown tired, either that or the CPU has, I'm not sure, I used to get 45fps in mtm2 with it, now I'm lucky to get 10 fps in mtm2 with it :(

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 10:56 am 
MTM2 Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 6:19 pm
Posts: 1267
Location: Viña del Mar, Chile.
>>The error message has moved around though
It is a RUNDLL32 pagefault?

Hey! a SNES with MK3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 9:44 pm 
Member

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2000 2:01 pm
Posts: 621
Location: Mississippi , USA
I saw the SNES first as well.. All I could think was.. God I'm getting old.

_________________
<p><font color="#990000">"I regret not what I've done, but what I didn't do."</font></p>
<p><a href="http://brandonbatson.com"><font color="#000066"><b><font color="#006666">http://brandonbatson.com
</font></b></font></a> </p>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:40 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 4:39 pm
Posts: 1767
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba, Canada
nah, BPFTP errors out on launch, but the error doesn't actually stop it from working so I just drag it off screen lol.

Apache actually wreacks the most havoc, if apache starts up, the control panel is ruined, start menu can't be clicked, no context menus will work correctly (except open/open with/properties), the control and alt keys will mysteriously stick on till you tap them some to get them off, the system clock will hang if you try to open up the date/time config, and a whole mess of other problems, cant even run codestuff starter. Basically to do any maitenance, I gotta go in and stop apache from starting up with windows, then restart the computer and everything works fine.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:38 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 7:46 am
Posts: 702
Location: In BinEdit, using YOUR models.
No MTM2?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next   


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group