MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:25 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next   
Author Message
 Post subject: Frietzak
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2004 5:05 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:54 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Belgium
I dont know if it is possible. But since I cant make models nor textures, could some1 do it for me? I am making a rumble, yeah lol, a rumble [:P]. Some1 asked me to make a typical belgian rumble with fries :D. I have the track almost ready, i only need to have fries as a model and mayonaise as some textures.

The specifications of the "fries model" are:
height: 10
width: lenght of 10 textures
lenght: lenght of 10 textures

The specifications of the "mayonaise texture" are:
I like ZooN's "ZKOILW.." textures and would like them to be equal, just without the grey lines and a neat white color.

I hope this is possible, If not I search another solution.
Fingers crossed, Thanks in advance,

Ashes

ps, I would upload the rumble yet, but my webspace has been deleted :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 10:06 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:54 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Belgium
Ok, I have used the mtm2 site to upload my beta. Hope you dont mind. Here it is: http://www.mtm2.com/~tracks/dl.cgi?dl=4141

its supposed to be a rumble, but its still set as circuit so you can test it alone. those fries im talking about should come above the 5 "frietzakken" so I need 5x1 fries model.

I hope it is possible. Just thought Id upload so you can get a better look on it.

Friendly Greetz,
Ashes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 2:17 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
> Hope you dont mind.

Of course not. That's what it's there for.

Now, since this is a rumble, I'd like to suggest you make it as a rumble and allow anybody to use gold mode so they know where the rumble zone is supposed to be. As it is now, it's large and I wasn't sure what I was supposed to be looking at. I mean, it looks good but it was basically just a free roam type drive... which ended when I fell into a big hole, lol.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:33 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:54 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Belgium
lol, that whole is made for some fooling around driving :)

ya better dont drive in there if you dont want to. btw, ill need some help here. Gold mode? How do I activate that?
The rumblebox contains 4 holes seperated from each other. The platforms with ketchup on it, is what you have to try to stay on to gather points.

Those fries should come above those 5 big holes.

Ash


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 4:44 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Gold mode allows you to drive a rumble while off line.

http://mtm2.com/~trackville/gold.htm
  • Type gold
  • Press ctrl + Y
  • Press the z key
  • Press ctrl + L
  • Type the name of the sit file

Voila, you are now in your rumble.

I'm still not sure on the model you're looking for. Can you sketch something for us?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 5:15 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:54 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Belgium
i did that, but always get: unknown error ocurred, do i need to enable something with tracks first?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 5:16 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
No, but you have to spell the sit file correctly. Low tolerance for errors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 5:47 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:54 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Belgium
NIR_Ashes wrote:
i did that, but always get: unknown error ocurred, do i need to enable something with tracks first?

Image


I got it now, thanks for the big help Phin. New beta uploaded, old upload can be removed.

Thank you very much, hope the scetch helps. My drawing skills [uhoh]

Ashes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 6:32 pm 
easy company
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 29, 2000 2:01 pm
Posts: 2018
> No, but you have to spell the sit file correctly. Low tolerance for errors.

It helps to press the z key instead of the x key also :P

Took me a few tries with your formula above before I had to consult tracksville to get the lowdown on the slew. heheh


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 8:02 pm 
[(-:]
How to view Rumbles offline, as real Rumbles.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2004 1:47 am 
Member

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 1:55 pm
Posts: 189
yea i just discovered gold mode myself. Oops mentioned it on page 3 of his new track, Salev. it works in evo too, but instead of just typing "GOLD" you type "GOLDFINGER".

_________________
---
Why am i here?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 12:49 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:54 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Belgium
If people cant help me with the fries model, I could upload it right away. People seem to like it the way it is, they say it could come confusing.

What you guys think?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 2:02 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
The square model for one fry is easy. I think the problem is (a) the texture and (b) arranging them without driving the vert count through the ceiling. Also, just trying to conceive of giant fries isn't an every day idea.

If you have the bottom part, then maybe you could adapt Angus' tutorial about using pre-made parts.

http://cownap.com/~mtmg/binedit/cube.html

The idea would be to insert one fry/block, then move it, then insert another, then move it to a different place. Repeat until the basket is full.

On the other hand, the track looked pretty good to begin with. It's really up to you how much you think this will add to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 4:50 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:54 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Belgium
the biggest problem is, i dont have any paint program...only ms paint [uhoh]

If you could get me a "1 fry" model I could test it, but on the other hand I dont want you to do an unnecesary job. I would feel sad if it would be nice after all the work you guys did for me.

If you really want an answer, I dont want the whole model cuzz its to hard, I'm gonna try a fry if you want and if it doesnt work ill upload it, ok. hope you dont think im selfish now.

Ash


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:48 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
The model is simple enough. Getting a texture to look good is a different story.

Image

Have a look around this site and see if you can find something that looks like a fry, or at least something you can live with.

http://grsites.com/textures/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 6:05 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:54 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Belgium
you could try these:
Image
Image
Image
I like the last one, It might look natural lol


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2004 11:32 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Try this : <a href="http://mtm2.com/~tracks/beta/NIRFRIES.zip">NIRFRIES.zip</a>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 7:08 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:54 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Belgium
those are really looking good isnt it?

Golden crusty fries hehe, I really like them, thank you very much Phin, the dimensions are very good. Now its up to me to put them in the sacs :)

I uploaded the new file, you may delete the previous Beta.
If its good, this will be the final version.

link: http://www.mtm2.com/~tracks/dl.cgi?dl=4179


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:37 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 19, 2003 12:54 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Belgium
Hmmm, I played it online and everytime i get an error.

:!: Too many Verticies :!:
TRD error!

Then i can only press ok and after that it closes monster and take me back to desktop! What could be wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2004 9:56 am 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
> Too many Verticies

That means there's too many model points for the game to draw. There are a few things you can do.

- use less models
- put some models on complex scenery mode and some on normal.
- use stock trucks

I would suggest the stone things at the end of each row can go to normal scenery level and the billboards can goto complex. Also, everything away from the track (fences, wind socks, arrows) can all go on complex. Then try it and see how it goes.

Also, those tunnels that you can get trapped down in them, maybe you could put teleporters/elevators in there to lift you back out. That would be much more fun than just a dead end. This is a fun-style track, so maybe find Sig's pepper shaker and make it sort-of sneeze you back to the surface, lol. I don't know. I'm just trying to come up with ideas here.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next   


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group