MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Fri May 26, 2017 1:45 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next   
Author Message
 Post subject: Razzle Dazzle Beta Version
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 7:55 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
Ok so... a few pointers:


1. The textures at the sharp turns will be looked into :)
2. The logs will be arranged properly (some aren't)
3. There are two "circles" at the beginning (one circles an antenna, the other one circles... well.. nothing). I want to add something to the 2nd circle but i have no idea what.
4. I want the tunnels to have some sort of an entrance but i don't know what to do now, help please.
5. Big bad factory will be normal or complex scenery in the final (i receive lag because of it, Phin rejoice :D)
6. AI course to be done.
7. I don't like the bridge textures but i do not know, atm, with what textures to replace them.


Razzle Dazzle 0.1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:47 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 39
The grass texture hurts my eyes a little but this track is really fun, definitely a keeper for play! If nothing else maybe add more stone (castle-like) structures. Sorry for lack of ideas, just wanted to say that I really enjoy the track so far.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Razzle Dazzle Beta Version
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:48 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
There's a spot on the road where the wires are a little low.

<center><img src="http://mtm2.com/~forum/images/razzledazzlebyslofila01.jpg" width="320" height="240"></center>

If that was real, the operator would be telling everyone "your number's been disconnected" ;-)


3. two "circles"

The antenna is okay but maybe something from the bottom half of this page would be better suited to nrrivas' great looking textures.

http://malibu350.com/scraps/Buildings.htm


4. the tunnels

LOL nice collection of junk down in there. Could you do anything with Mal's big whiskey tunnel?


5. Big bad factory

I like it just the way it is.


7. the bridge textures

Can you remap them to the road textures?


I know you don't like a track to be overly smooth but I'm afraid about the first quarter of the course you lose momemtum due to the roughness. Please consider keeping up the speed in those spots.


Great start Fila Fila!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:07 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
As it is really late now (5 am) i won't actually be looking into detail and/or reply properly :D Will do that when i wake up but i only wanted to answer to this:

Quote:
I know you don't like a track to be overly smooth but I'm afraid about the first quarter of the course you lose momemtum due to the roughness. Please consider keeping up the speed in those spots.


The track at first was overly smooth and after running it... well... for my own personal taste it was so boring i fell asleep driving it so i just felt the need to bump it up.

As i did it very randomly in some places i might have gone overboard (for example in the "2nd circle" and i will make it somewhat smoother in that part).



Ah screw this, i'll start answering, can't help it :D


Quote:
There's a spot on the road where the wires are a little low.


I know but i'll keep that "just for fun" :D
I like the very small bump before it that makes you "jump" over them ;)


Quote:
The antenna is okay but maybe something from the bottom half of this page would be better suited to nrrivas' great looking textures.


Will check out.

Quote:
LOL nice collection of junk down in there. Could you do anything with Mal's big whiskey tunnel?


Hmmm... i ignored the tunnel when i was looking around but i'll double check.
The entrance to the 2nd tunnel though i want it to resemble more of a cave (with junk in it) so for the entrance at least it won't do.


Quote:
5. Big bad factory

I like it just the way it is.


No you do not like it :D


Quote:
Can you remap them to the road textures?



As in what exactly? Make a smooth transition with the road?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:08 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
emphummies wrote:
The grass texture hurts my eyes a little but this track is really fun, definitely a keeper for play! If nothing else maybe add more stone (castle-like) structures. Sorry for lack of ideas, just wanted to say that I really enjoy the track so far.


Heh no problem, was thinking about some castle like thingies myself.


Suggestion: Run it with the "dusk" weather mask and tell me if it bothers your eyes as much.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:11 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
Oh and i know they are telephone wires but i like to pretend they are for electrical energy :)


And the buildings down there give me an idea.

I could have an observatory in the 2nd circle and have some more wires around the track (the observatory needs power after all).


At the moment i am almost at the limit with the objects but i need to cut down on those trees anyway as i feel there are too many trees and as a result there isn't enough variety.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:25 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Fila wrote:
Quote:
5. Big bad factory

I like it just the way it is.


No you do not like it :D

Ok, I don't.


Fila wrote:
Quote:
Can you remap them to the road textures?


As in what exactly?

Beats me, I was just talking to hear my keyboard tapping.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:26 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Fila wrote:
At the moment i am almost at the limit with the objects but i need to cut down on those trees anyway as i feel there are too many trees and as a result there isn't enough variety.


I like the trees.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:44 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation

1. The textures at the sharp turns will be looked into Smile



Done

2. The logs will be arranged properly (some aren't)

Done

3. There are two "circles" at the beginning (one circles an antenna, the other one circles... well.. nothing). I want to add something to the 2nd circle but i have no idea what.


Done (and then some)

4. I want the tunnels to have some sort of an entrance but i don't know what to do now, help please.


NOT done. I tried Mal's Whiskey tunnel but i'm not very sure about it... don't really know if it works or not.

It does not work for the first tunnel due to the big difference in terrain altitude and the big size of the tunnel.

For the 2nd tunnel... i don't know, really undecided.


5. Big bad factory will be normal or complex scenery in the final (i receive lag because of it, Phin rejoice Big Grin)


Ran it again and this time i had no lag, must have been something weird yesterday (like too many programs in the background).

6. AI course to be done.

Will be done.

7. I don't like the bridge textures but i do not know, atm, with what textures to replace them.

Think they work better now.



I know you don't like a track to be overly smooth but I'm afraid about the first quarter of the course you lose momemtum due to the roughness. Please consider keeping up the speed in those spots.



I did smooth a bit in the 2nd circle (now called Observatory circle) and now it's fine.
I know you are not a racer Phin :) but if you swing your truck around you can find a line that doesn't require much jumping. I think i will keep it as it is now, i like it and if you search hard enough you can find a line where the wheels do not leave the road. It's just that you cannot drive in a "straight" line.


Razzle Dazzle 0.2



Ok so other thoughts for this version?


Basically the two stuff that were not done compared to what was discussed about 0.1 is the AI course (which will be done) and the tunnels.


If you guys think of anything else (or not) let me know.

For the tunnels... well, i don't know what to do so far.




P.S. I accidentally left Mal's tunnel in this version :D lol


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:51 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
Oops, i forgot to add a collision box for the wire post that is in the way :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:16 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
In the meantime i fixed the bridges some more.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:44 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
Ok Phin so let's get technical for a second.


1. How can i get rid of the ground box error? The only way is to make a flat model to act as the road? (and texture it accordingly)?



2. Uhm... helicopter doesn't work. I added the extended course and heli doesn't work. It brings me to no man's land (in an instant) and i cannot move from there.

Also if i flip the truck over it gets spawned in the same no man's land.


Also at one point, for some unknown reason (no error no nothing) the wheels stopped turning. The truck was handling as normal but the wheels weren't rotating.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 3:46 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
Found it. The bermuda triangle error...


And i fixed it. Had to redo the extended course. No idea why. The non-rotating wheels probably were related.


So what about that box increase count?



Do i have to do the stupid AI trucks? i find it impossible to make them work at the bridge going over the start/finish turn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 5:55 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
> How can i get rid of the ground box error?

Less ground boxes. Or make a model. Or compromise. Use ground boxes where the trucks drive over and models for the other parts.


> Uhm... helicopter doesn't work. AND Also if i flip the truck over it gets spawned in the same no man's land.

That sometimes happens with improperly positioned course segments. If you leave out the middle segment of a U-turn, for instance, it'll sometimes do that.


> the wheels stopped turning

LOL


> Had to redo the extended course. No idea why. The non-rotating wheels probably were related.

Could be. I don't know what the connecton would be but you never know, eh?


> Do i have to do the stupid AI trucks?

Ultimately it's your choice. If you've grown impatient, then maybe Mal, wint or I could lend a hand. I don't want to make work for other people but sometimes looking at it fresh can help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 6:20 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
So other than the technical part of AI trucks and groundboxes you don't have any other complaints about the track?


:D



Also i have added some signs between cp1 and cp2 as there was a very possible short in there and i don't want the short as i really like the S turn.




Well i have never been able to do models, always too impatient for it. I'll try to use the compromise part and do grass textured models to replace the gb's and hopefully it will be enough.


Quote:
I don't want to make work for other people but sometimes looking at it fresh can help.


But you are all too willing to take my .txx file and butcher my track when you don't like it :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:36 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Fila wrote:
So other than the technical part of AI trucks and groundboxes you don't have any other complaints about the track?

Beats me, I haven't looked yet. I only answered your questions.

Fila wrote:
Quote:
I don't want to make work for other people but sometimes looking at it fresh can help.

But you are all too willing to take my .txx file and butcher my track when you don't like it :D

yes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:44 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
double standards!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:46 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Not double standards. High standards. When your work stinks then we can fix it.

[:-)]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 8:48 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Lost in Translation
:p



I don't know what to do about the gb. If i get 7 trucks on the middle road (at the beginning of the middle road) then the error pops up even if i cut out all the "extra" gb's :(


Although in an online race it will be a bit difficult to get 7 trucks at the same time at that point in the race.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 10:56 pm 
easy company
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 29, 2000 2:01 pm
Posts: 2018
> When your work stinks then we can fix it.

roflolol

Sometimes I think the only reason Fila makes a track is to flirt with Phins patience threshold... More than likely not, but it's funny to follow all the same.

Bots are pretty easy to set Fila, just pretend you're blind and stupid.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next   


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group