MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:12 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next   
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:14 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Now that I've finally driven the track.....

Bumps before corners
cp 6 - ok, or, at least, I can live with it, if I have to
cp 8 - overshoot it every time
cp 11 to cp 12 - as a cockpit driver it has me looking skyward a very long time.
cp 19 - it's a completely hidden corner

Bridge textures look fine to me.

The fences look good. Fits right in with the surrounding scenery.

The roughness at the early part of the track is greatly improved, thanks. Now you just need to do the rest of it :p


> I don't know what to do about the gb. If i get 7 trucks on the middle road

There are a few tracks like that. Nothing for it but to reduce visibility to about 75% percent. Sometimes you can get away with higher. The layout is good so I wouldn't want you to change too much.


Malibu350 wrote:
Bots are pretty easy to set Fila, just pretend you're blind and stupid.


Fila should have no trouble then.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:23 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Lost in Translation
cp 6 - ok, or, at least, I can live with it, if I have to


good, you have to.

cp 8 - overshoot it every time


Now i know some people lack any sort of racing skills (for example Mal took up rumbling) so i will suggest you something, a tip from a pro if you like. USE THE dern BRAKES!!!!!
That's all there is to it [(-:]

cp 11 to cp 12 - as a cockpit driver it has me looking skyward a very long time.


I know and if you have enough speed you can even hit the wires [tu]

cp 19 - it's a completely hidden corner


That's why you learn a race track :)



Bots are pretty easy to set Fila, just pretend you're blind and stupid.


Well yeah but the bots are overshooting a turn (it has a jump before it) and when they land they immediately try to brake which only makes them slide to the other corner of the map :(
And i cannot limit the whole area because it's a very long stretch... would basically be very boring since they can't take corners anyway.




So judging by what "complaints" Phin has brought up it leads me to believe that this track is basically ready for release... if only i could make that dern tunnel entrance look good.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:31 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Lost in Translation
Malibu350 wrote:
Sometimes I think the only reason Fila makes a track is to flirt with Phins patience threshold... More than likely not, but it's funny to follow all the same.



Would you believe me if i told you that the reason why i wanted slippery textures in Summer Isle was to *beep* off Phin?

:)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:46 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
<table cellspacing="1" cellpadding="3" border="0"><tr><td class="quote"> Would you believe me </td></tr></table>
Yes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 3:58 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Lost in Translation
Ok so this is basically a release candidate.


The AI doesn't work, i'll try to tinker with it some more, if i make it work fine, if not then tough luck :)


Razzle Dazzle 0.3


So tell me if it's ready to go.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:22 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Lost in Translation
Well...?


8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:45 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:58 am
Posts: 39
I would say its ready because I don't race computer trucks anyway but what do I know anyway!! [(-:]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:55 am 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Fila wrote:
Well...?


Well what?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:25 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Lost in Translation
Are there any complaints/suggestions you would like to add to v0.3?

Besides the ones you already posted for v0.2 and to which i replied with a big fat no (and somewhat explaining why the big no btw).



emph says it's ready, Raz doesn't have any problems with it except that it's too easy (other than that it's ready), what's your input on this latest verson?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:53 am 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
  • it's too bumpy

  • I can see light under the building on the left before cp 10

  • the first bridge on the long straight before cp19 stopped me dead... maybe line it with an object box.

  • why is the finish line in such a weird place (that is, right after that goofy corner)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:30 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Lost in Translation
Quote:
the first bridge on the long straight before cp19 stopped me dead... maybe line it with an object box.


Heh... i am pretty sure you are doing this on purpose :)

I was never able to actually land on the bridge.
Just as well will fix it then just in case.


it's too bumpy


Raz says not bumpy enough ;)


I can see light under the building on the left before cp 10


Ok will fix it.


why is the finish line in such a weird place (that is, right after that goofy corner)


For any desperate "last corner" maneuvers :)



So it's good to go then?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:00 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
I want a v0.4 so I can say it's too bumpy again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 1:09 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Lost in Translation
But you can say that for the final version as well :)


I'm working on the AI trucks now to at least complete a lap under any circumstances possible and will release it afterwards.


If i perfectly line a box on the same level as the gb then will the "hang" effect be nullified?

Or do i have to line the box one level above the gb?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:29 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
> But you can say that for the final version

Don't worry, I plan to.


> the AI trucks

Sometimes speed limits help.



> If i line a box on the same level as the gb
> do i have to line the box one level above the gb?

I haven't tried the same level; I've used one nudge higher.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:32 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Lost in Translation
Ok then it is done.


In the end i decided to limit the speed for the whole straight, not the happiest solution, to take away the only thing the AI trucks are good at but other wise it would have not worked.


Ok then i'll go one nudge higher just to be sure since probably noone will ever notice it since i doubt anyone will ever land on the bridge :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:34 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
> since i doubt anyone will ever land on the bridge

I landed on it. A computer truck was being rude.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:36 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Lost in Translation
Quote:
I landed on it. A computer truck was being rude.



I won't even reply to that as it is so easy to have a dig at it ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:46 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
You just did reply to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:50 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 1122
Location: Lost in Translation
Yes but i won't reply with anything properly related to it :p (as in to the situation u found yourself in).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 2:56 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
You can if you like because I just made it up anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next   


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group