MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 2:32 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ONaN's 2.1 FiTruck2.pod (28in1)
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:00 pm 
Diggerdude
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 176
Location: Behind You
Im assuming its a remake of all the stocks in the game but when i pod it the game wont start, i opend the pod up in binedit and there nice looking too anyone else have this problem?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:55 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 12
I haven't done pictures yet because there's so many and I have to set aside time to do them, but I just tried one and it appears fine.

<center><img src="http://cownap.com/~trucks/P2007/21fitruck2pod28in1byonan.jpg"></center>

Are you getting any error messages?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 9:02 pm 
Diggerdude
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 176
Location: Behind You
yea a bad .trk

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 9:06 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 12
Come on, man. What bad trk, what error?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 9:15 pm 
Diggerdude
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 176
Location: Behind You
thats all it said bad .trk

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 11:20 pm 
Diggerdude
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 176
Location: Behind You
its says like bad models metal/crush blah blah i for got then .trk

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 11:26 pm 
Diggerdude
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 176
Location: Behind You
because i was going to try and have it set those up has the stocks

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:21 am 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 12
Well, my friend, that is not a good enough answer. If you could be more specific, then maybe we could track down the problem. But as it is, there is nothing wrong with this truck pack. I just ran all 28 trucks in clear whether and in pitch black and there are no errors.

<center><img src="http://mtm2.com/~trucks/P2007/21fitruck3pod28in1byonan.jpg"></center>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 4:15 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 5:01 am
Posts: 195
Location: Southwest of England
Image

This is the one I get, taken just minutes ago. By the way, I don't see what was wrong with the original MTM2.1, or why that guy had to upload it again.

_________________
Call me Ethan :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 7:33 pm 
Diggerdude
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 11:32 am
Posts: 176
Location: Behind You
i get that one and the other one ill try and get a prnt screen of it

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:57 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 04, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 495
Location: Bathurst, NSW, Australia
Error like that typically means the texture is missing outright.

Did you unmount your original Truck2.pod, or leave it installed? BEARFOO1.RAW sounds like a texture from the stock game.
If the new truckpack pod doesn't have the BearFoot texture in it, then you'll need to keep Truck2.pod mounted as well.

_________________
10 years of MTM2 ~ 1998-2008
"Thanks for the MTMories"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:12 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 12
The new truck pod has no errors (see picture above). None, zilch, nada, there's nothing wrong with it. For anything else, I need time to check it out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:55 am 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 12
Please notice in EJD's graphic that the RAW file being asked for is BEARFOO1.RAW whereas the truck pack uses renamed graphic files. Thus:

<center><img src="http://mtm2.com/~forum/images/topic4747.gif" width="600" height="416"></center>

Conclusion: if you are getting the BEARFOO1.RAW message than something else you have mounted is causing the error and not this truck pack.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:14 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 04, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 495
Location: Bathurst, NSW, Australia
Ergo.
Drive2Survive wrote:
Did you unmount your original Truck2.pod, or leave it installed?


I'm betting he saw it as a replacement for the stock trucks, so he discarded Truck2.pod from the pod.ini and replaced it with FiTruck2.pod. But now there's something else (most probably something in the track that he was trying to run) that needs the BEARFOO1.RAW.

The FiTruck2.pod itself is not in error to 'not' contain the stock truck textures, but if you're treating it as a replacement for Truck2.pod you'll need to supply the stock textures to the game in some other way.


Edit: And I notice in your screenshot that the bins and trks keep the same filenames as the stocks even though the textures are different. I'll bet that Diggerdude's errors (he mentioned a TRK error) resulted from keeping the Truck2.pod mounted.

So if you ditch Truck2.pod, you run the risk of missing errors like EJD's, but if you keep it, you'll get conflicts. Moral of the story, ya can't win :P
That is, until you bring out the crowbar argument: http://ch.mtm2.com/c-pod/disable.php

_________________
10 years of MTM2 ~ 1998-2008
"Thanks for the MTMories"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 6:14 am 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 12
Whatcha giving me a hard time for. You're speculating what these guys have done but they refuse to say themselves. I ran it with and without truck2.pod and with and without two other replacement pods simultaneously. What you say about other trucks needing what they've unmounted is likely the case, is in fact the case, but I've unlinked the review topic from the download because it misleads people into thinking things that are not true. And most newer uploads are not podzipped so there's equally likely the chance another pod has what they do not, and is equally likely there is a corrupt file in one of those pods. Has anybody except EJD given a specific error? No. Has anybody given us a pod.ini list? No. Has anybody looked for specific causes beside me? No. I will not condemn this truck pack based on what's here in this thread.

And yes, that http://ch.mtm2.com/c-pod/disable.php 's a sound argument.


E J D wrote:
I don't see what was wrong with the original MTM2.1, or why that guy had to upload it again.

"That guy" made the original 2.1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:13 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 04, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 495
Location: Bathurst, NSW, Australia
Between this and the beta room you are in the wars, eh? :P

Hey, I didn't say there was anything wrong with the truck pack myself or question your proof of soundness, which is thorough and should be the final word that this pack should (all other things being equal) work for anyone. I was just trying to cut to the chase of what the likely problem scenario for these guys was. My repeating the Truck2.pod question under your post was directed at them, not you, just as you have two posts arguing there is no error in the pack under one of mine.

Yes, these guys could be giving us more information to work from if they want a solution given.
No, I surely haven't downloaded and tried and inspected the thing myself.


Phineus wrote:
I ran it with and without truck2.pod

Hmm, I may need to revise my conclusion above then.

Phineus wrote:
most newer uploads are not podzipped

Really? I would have thought the other way. C-POD and BinEdit both podzip automatically when you build a pod with them. I don't know off the top of my head whether Traxx does now too; if it doesn't, then sure I can agree that most addons won't be podzipped when they're uploaded.

_________________
10 years of MTM2 ~ 1998-2008
"Thanks for the MTMories"


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group