MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:10 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Idea: Default Truck remake
PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2009 3:17 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:48 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Earth - Circa 1981
Has anyone considered remaking the default trucks with better graphics? Using images with more realistic detail, basically just making better looking more realistic skins on the default trucks and releasing a "patch" or file to download and replace all default trucks in the MTM2 directory?

Just a thought because I noticed (aside from the game environment) that the trucks kind of look a little dated.

_________________
Image


Last edited by lygernight on Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Idea: Default Truck remake
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 4:53 pm 
mtm2 rocks!
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:34 pm
Posts: 589
Location: Abington, Massachusetts
That's a good idea! :D But would they still be considered stock for tourney's and stuff? :?

lygernight wrote:
Has anyone considered remaking the default trucks with better graphics? Using images with more realistic detail, basically just making better looking more realistic skins on the default trucks and releasing a "patch" or file to download and replace all default trucks in the MTM2 directory?

Just a thought because I noticed (aside from the game environment) that the trucks kind of look a little dated.

_________________
<a HREF="http://www.freewebs.com/nascarfan15"><IMG SRC="http://i685.photobucket.com/albums/vv211/nascarfan1520/OverkillSigV2.png" alt="My Website" border="0"></a>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:48 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:00 pm
Posts: 233
The reason we still use these trucks is both A. Keeps the game fair because they are set up very similar and have very similar handling, and B. 8 players with a truck that has like 1500+ verts lags mtm2.

_________________
Good one, Genius.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 01, 2010 11:22 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:48 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Earth - Circa 1981
even if it's just reskinning with updated graphics? Some of the skins could be done with more detail and not impact the verts couldn't it?

_________________
Image


Last edited by lygernight on Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 2:17 am 
You Gonna Eat That?
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2001 2:01 pm
Posts: 923
Location: Nebraska
The only way you can see it tho is if everyone yer gonna play with has the same thing, and quite frankly, the orig trucks suck, and arent worth putting that much trouble toward.

There's no reason to make a "patch" or anything cuz its like spraying perfume on a turd, we just deal with it. And yes, they're good for online gaming, personal gaming... visit my site :D

_________________
Rep Fan's Garage


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: This has been done to a certain extent.
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 9:49 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:42 pm
Posts: 614
Actually, this has been done to a certain extent. A few years ago, Alpine modified the default trucks, with better axles and wheels. Each has a standard body and fiberglass counterpart.
See this topic for a look at what I mean.
http://forum.mtm2.com/viewtopic.php?t=3020


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 10:32 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:48 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Earth - Circa 1981
Thats what I was talkin about...nice...now my question is do they show up as the default trucks for people who don't have them? (i.e. does bulldozer(fiberglass) show up as bulldozer)

_________________
Image


Last edited by lygernight on Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:29 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:48 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Earth - Circa 1981
There's only one little problem with this....all the trucks install over the old trucks. Is there a way to rename them so they say something like:

Bulldozer 2.0
Bulldozer 2.0 (Fiberglass)

because I'm keeping the original trucks too (for tourneys) and its confusing to have 2 trucks named "bulldozer" and not know which one is the default truck that came with the game.

_________________
Image


Last edited by lygernight on Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 6:02 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 1:42 pm
Posts: 614
well you could rename the trucks in their TRK files, then rename the TRK, and make a new pod for them.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group