MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Sun Jun 25, 2017 3:34 am



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Houston 1985 Problem
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 7:30 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:28 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Baytown, TX
I just uploaded this track as a "Drag" track and it was changed to "Junk Upload". WHY?!?!?!?!? I do not upload junk. It is a nice track
http://www.mtm2.com/~tracks/tracks.cgi? ... 5&track=on
^track link


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:38 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Models have no *.bin file extension. I have been trying to get people to pay attention to this problem for years but very few people take heed. So, all tracks that are constructed this way, in the past and in the future, will be deleted.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 9:25 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:28 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Baytown, TX
how do I know which files don't have a .bin on them?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 4:14 am 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
Traxx and podview show file names.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 12:46 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2005 4:46 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Rye Texas
It's me again Phin. I don't understand what he's saying about no bin file extension. Do my tracks have this problem. Or are they alright?

_________________
I'm a Fast Lappin Ignorant Fool.
A.K.A. (The Shenandoah Kid) 1:57.94


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 7:36 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
I have most of the tracks with this problem noted. I think yours are okay.

The problem and solution are well known, so there's no excuse.

http://cownap.com/~mtmg/folderoptionsxp.shtml


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 11:14 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:00 pm
Posts: 233
My question is what's the error(s) it cuases if the extensions aren't shown?

_________________
Good one, Genius.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:57 am 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
My question is why are people so hard-headed about this

http://forum.mtm2.com/search.php?search ... odel+error


http://mtm2.com/~mtmg/errors.cgi?e=56


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:47 pm 
MTM2 Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 6:19 pm
Posts: 1267
Location: Viña del Mar, Chile.
having file extensions hidden in windows xp is very dangerous anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:36 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 8:50 am
Posts: 110
Location: Coventry, Rhode Island
Very easy to switch the extensions on. Folder options, View Tab, Uncheck the hide extensions for known file types box and click apply. Simple as that.

As a veteran track designer it's a pain in the nether regions to extract somebodies work to use textures or models whether it be to assist in a build or use them for my owner personal designs to see extensions were left off and having to hand rename the files with a .bin extension to allow them to show up in Bin Edit or Traxx. When I first was met with an issue like this I would get model errors in game and in Traxx and couldn't figure out why until I noticed for that particular track extensions were turned off when I went to the model folder or model box in Traxx.

It's a really simple fix and I have to applaud Phin's efforts in getting people to change their habits with this issue. It is crucial to get everyone on the same page so that this game may continue to live long and prosper!!! 8)

_________________
Dave Collard- Administrator of www.mtm2draggers.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 29, 2009 11:25 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 7:46 am
Posts: 702
Location: In BinEdit, using YOUR models.
DaveTheSmasher wrote:
It's a pain in the nether regions to extract somebodies work to use textures or models whether it be to assist in a build or use them for my owner personal designs to see extensions were left off and having to hand rename the files with a .bin extension to allow them to show up in Bin Edit or Traxx.


Amen. But yeah, I know how to fix it too :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 8:28 am 
MTM2 Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 6:19 pm
Posts: 1267
Location: Viña del Mar, Chile.
DaveTheSmasher wrote:
to see extensions were left off and having to hand rename the files with a .bin extension


PS: You can always use

Code:
cd models
ren *.* *.bin


in the command line editor to rename those


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2010 8:00 pm 
Glow Ball
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 1999 7:00 pm
Posts: 8
if the file already has a *.bin extension, then you get file.bin.bin. To fix that use ren *. *.bin but even if you do that, then you cannot clone cleanly, which is what dave was talking about.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group