MTM2.com

A forum for mtm2 discussion
FAQ :: Search :: Members :: Groups :: Register
Login
It is currently Mon Jul 24, 2017 9:49 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Did any of these programs work for you?
Yes, dgVoodoo works 27%  27%  [ 3 ]
Yes, eVoodoo works 9%  9%  [ 1 ]
Yes, nGlide works 18%  18%  [ 2 ]
Didn't try any, my graphics are fine 45%  45%  [ 5 ]
No, it's still messed up 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Total votes : 11
Author Message
 Post subject: Background overlapping solution
PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:38 pm 
MTM2 Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 6:19 pm
Posts: 1272
Location: Valparaíso, Chile.
Image

For all those who have the background overlapping issue when playing Monster Truck Madness 2, here's the final solution.

Some of you are using zeckensack's Glide wrapper for this, and it may work, However I do not recommend this option, I only suggested the use of this glide emulator to achieve high resolution graphics, not as a normal replacement of the Direct3D API. It displays poor framerates, no cockpit or finder antialiasing, no custom fonts and it has problems with key combinations (eg, when switching views) So let's leave zeckensack's Glide wrapper only for hi-res graphics (if you have a powerful graphics card)

Dgvoodoo, used with the right parameters, makes a perfect and even better replacement for the mtm2's Direct3d rendeering. I even have better framerates than the original mtm2's Direct3d (even though, we're using the same API for this!)

Installation

1.- Download dgVoodoo
http://dege.freeweb.hu/dgVoodoo1.50Beta2.zip

2.- Exctract the files dgVoodoo.exe, dgVoodooSetup.exe, glide.dll and glide2x.dll in the Monster Truck Madness 2 folder

3.- Run dgVodooSetup.exe, in the global tab select:

Render API: Direct3D9
Display device: your default graphics card
Display driver: Direct3D9 HAL
Screen mode: Full screen
Screen bit depth: 16 bit

Then click the OK button. Make sure the platform is "Windows"

4.- Run MTM2, select 3dfx in the graphics renderer listbox, in the graphics options dialog (Menu Options/Graphics...)

and that's it.

Image

EDIT:

Alternatives to dgVoodoo

dRod (nvidia 9600) had problems trying dgvoodoo on win7 for some reason, so he recommend me trying eVoodoo

http://evoodoo.emulation64.com/evoodoo-xp-3.1.zip

I had some trouble with eVoodoo, took some time to display graphics at first time and It didn't render properly some model faces. But it had good framerates and its more easy to use than dgVoodoo.

Another alternative is nGlide, which is even more easier to use, you just install it and that's it, no config needed. Has nice framerates and no graphic issues, except for the bright

http://www.zeus-software.com/downloads/nglide

(thanks dRod)


Last edited by Kmaster on Fri Jun 11, 2010 10:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 9:18 am 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 4:39 pm
Posts: 1767
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba, Canada
Or just update your display drivers. nVidia solved this problem almost 3 years ago, I would hope that ATI has as well.


Maybe this new renderer would help those of us with modern graphic cards that can't play anything older than DirectX8.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 5:07 pm 
MTM2 Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2003 6:19 pm
Posts: 1272
Location: Valparaíso, Chile.
Right now I'm using the inboard intel graphics card that came with my new motherboard, GMA X4500, and I had this problem. I updated drivers and nothing happened. Same goes to my former inboard card, Intel GMA 945g, drivers for windows vista & 7 had this bug. I'm planning to buy a card.. not sure which one (ati or nvidia)... what vcard you have?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 5:47 pm 
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 4:39 pm
Posts: 1767
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba, Canada
nVidia 9600. It has good multi platform compatibility and has decent grunt for modern games as long as you are not addicted to max graphics.
I can barely get 10FPS on mid graphics in earth 2160, which is an older game, but I can get easily 60fps in mass effect 2 on max graphics (without AA or AS). So its really unpredictable.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 4:28 am 
Gone Walkabout
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 10:35 am
Posts: 665
This thread should be a good help to a number of people Kmaster.

I used the 'didn't try it' in the poll as I do not have the problem you have shown, I have seen it on other computers so its nice to know a workaround.

I am using a vista laptop at this time with DirectX10 and NIVIDIA GeForce Go 7900 GS which does not show the problem.

Its good they 'pinned' this thread and thanks for sharing it all guys.

_________________
Tournament Host:
MTM2
http://www.mtm2tournaments.com
http://www.mtm2online.com
Evo1
http://www.evo1online.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group